black magic✨🔮
black magic✨🔮
Episode #20: Temperance
0:00
-45:09

Episode #20: Temperance

"You've got to get your butt in gear and do it." - David Lynch, and also me to myself about recording this episode.

Darlings, where have you been?! It’s been too long and I’ve missed you too much but I’m glad we’re back together now. This episode, I talk about temperance—a concept I am learning to resent less and appreciate as a necessity for good art and a life well lived.

I wanted to include some of the resources/references I mention in this episode, in case you’re curious to explore more:

  • This is the guided exercise in spiritual alchemy I talk about at around 19:20. I can’t explain it but I put a lot of trust in a website when it looks like it hasn’t been updated since the mid 2000s.

  • Here’s the IG video of the woman demonstrating the full Chinese wax dyeing process.

  • Ryuichi Sakomoto: “Art is long. Life is short.”

    Landscape with the fall of Icarus, Pieter Brueghel the Elder, 1558
    Live footage of me trying not to think about Gojo & Geto’s friendship and all the spoilers I’ve already seen about their fates.

Finally, below are the images for the Wild Unknown and Waite-Smith versions of Temperance. I love you and I’m glad you’re here.

Wild Unknown (left) and Waite-Smith (right)

black magic✨🔮 is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

black magic✨🔮
black magic✨🔮
Tarot, astrology, journaling, culture.
Listen on
Substack App
Overcast
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarah Black